Twins, now what?

Today is going to be a short message. When I first found out about our twin pregnancy a lot of things changed for me and here are something I have found have worked great for us in preparing for a twin pregnancy and their arrival.

First off find out about your current OB needs. Do you have one that handles twins? What about the Hospital you choose does it have the highest care needed for multiples? For us we were with midwives and we knew that would change right away because they did  not take on “High Risk Pregnancies”. I was almost 20 weeks along when we found out and it was a little scary because I was not sure what I missed out on and what to expect with changing over to an OB. Luckily I knew what hospital I now wanted to deliver at and my midwives went quickly to work to get me an OB that worked with multiples that delivered there.

One hard part for me was the timing of when we found out. After seeing my midwives the day after our ultrasound I wasn’t going to have another check up for 4 weeks. To me that was a huge shock. I had to wait a month to talk to anyone about my twin pregnancy. What I did right away then was talk to anyone that had twins that I knew. From there I was able to get a few tips and bits of advice to hold me over until I saw my OB. I also hit the library and picked up some books on twins and multiples. There are a lot of great books out there full of facts and tips on twins from conception to school age. The best and most comforting book I found was When You’re Expecting Twins, Triplets or Quads by Barbara Luke and Tamara Eberlein. I quickly went out and found a copy at a used book store. Since I picked up this book it hasn’t been very far from my reach. It has been a comfort to me as I am able to chart my twins growth and progress. Since my husband and I found out half way through and it being summer as well we have missed out on Prenatal Classes for multiples, so having a good book and using the internet we hope we have been able to get all the information we need. If you find yourself in a similar situation call your hospital prenatal programs and see if you can even purchase the materials and information handed out in the class room. Any information is better than none.

The other thing that has really helped me out this pregnancy is a pillow my friend lent me. It is a giant C shaped pillow and has been amazing. Singleton pregnancies are not the most comfortable for sleep and twins has been even more fun. With this pillow I have been able to sleep more comfortably and deeper. I hope it helps me out right until the end. I would recommend it to anyone who is pregnant. They are available online at Babies R Us and in store.

There you have it, a good book and a pillow is my current advice from my experience. If you have any other tips or advice on a must have item from your pregnancy please feel free to share them.

From our happy family to yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

