Ask and ye shall recieve help!

Getting help to get you through your multiple pregnancy is also very important. I found out very early on that it was not easy doing the things I did before. With two little girls running around it was getting even harder. I have also found this twin pregnancy harder than either of my girls. With them I was able to muddle through the daily chores and tasks with out too much trouble. Do a little each day and make sure to get rest and I was fine. This time around I had to cut my goals back to having clean dishes and clothes, another twin mom recommended this to me. It is so true! Even now at 33 and a half weeks I am finding getting those tasks done hard.

As a woman I find it hard to ask for help. I know that there are many like minds out there as well. The feeling that we can do it all, it was why we were created. To be strong women and take care of our families, homes and life all on our own. This pregnancy has taught me to ask for help and also to relax on a few things.

Since I’m a stay at home mom we don’t have the benefit of two incomes to provide us the luxury of hired help that many twin moms are recommended during their pregnancies. Many of the books I read did suggest this. My husband and I sat down together and worked out ways that we could get the help I needed without breaking the bank.

First off my husband agreed to take on more of the chores around the house on his days off, which was a big help. I agreed to relax on what wasn’t being done. It may not be easy but relaxing on some things is a must, so the bathroom isn’t as clean as you would like and there are a few dust bunnies lying around the house. Keeping your babies inside is so much more important. In the early stages while you can work around your home try to make it as clutter free as possible. We have found by clearing out things we don’t need or use anymore and setting up easy to clean areas for papers etc it has helped keep the house feeling clean even if there is a layer of dust on everything and the floors haven’t been washed in a long time.

The other thing that really helped us out was hiring a babysitter. Since we couldn’t afford a full-time nanny or daycare we looked at cheaper options. We have been very fortunate that the later part of the pregnancy has been during the summer when school was out. We approached our babysitter and asked her if she would be willing to work 20 hours a week at her current babysitting rate to help us out. She agreed and we also told her if she wanted to work more than 20 hours we were ok with that. We set up hours she would come over, 4 hours each afternoon from 1-5 on Mondays – Fridays and her job was to play with our girls. I was no longer able to take them out to the park or for bike rides so she made sure to do things like that each day she was here. On crummy days weather wise she did arts and crafts with our girls. Having her around allowed me to put my feet up a lot more, and also my husband and I to complete a few errands that we needed done before our twins arrived. Our girls really enjoyed having her around and we feel that every penny spent was well worth it. Since school has started back up we have missed her dearly. She has even offered to help out after the boys, part of her school requirements are to complete so many volunteer hours and if helping us counts we are going to work on a plan for that. Don’t be afraid to go to your local highschool and ask the same thing. If it does count leave your information to be passed on. Also look to local youth groups at churches and Girl Guides. Many organizations like that also have volunteer work they need to complete. I have been involved in Girl Guides since I was 7 years old and my community of Guiders and Girl members have also been a great help to me.

Lastly don’t be afraid to ask your family for help. Even on small tasks like helping you give your kids a bath at night can be a big help. Plus it also gives your kids a chance to bond with their family outside your home. Something that will be important for them when the arrival of two or more babies changes their lives as well. If you don’t have kids currently don’t be afraid to ask for help either,  even on your own you will need it. Get family and friends to do some of your shopping for you for the baby or groceries. You never know if you will end up on bedrest. Having a good network of help is great. Anyone who offers wants to be used so make sure to keep that in mind.

Put your feet up relax and take one day at a time.

From our happy family to yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

