Newspapers more than just liner for hamster cages!

Ok first off I’m going to apologize for my tardiness on articles. I am within a week now of my induction on our twins and life has just felt a little crazy that I have not had my mind on what to write. I hope you will bear with me over these next few months as I adjust to our new life and twins.

Today’s piece has been inspired by a lady down the street from me. When I first found out my family was going to double in size in 4 months I was overwhelmed with thoughts and feelings. Mostly on how would we provide for all our children. Our meager budget we set up for weekly spending was going to get a lot thinner. So one day when I saw my neighbour I asked her to think of some tips for me on being a bigger family, her favorite things she does that help manage her family.

Of course the tips she had were easy and simple that had me thinking now why didn’t I think of that. One of my favorites being to flip through our local paper for events with free to low-cost meals being offered. Now I do love coupons and find myself surfing coupon sites and clipping magazines, but I never thought of our newspaper as a source for discounted meals. I was amazed to see that she was finding all sorts of offers by businesses. Since it was summer plenty of businesses were hosting local customer appreciation days filled with free cake offers, hot dog dinners for $1.00 and even free entertainment for kids. Most events in our area usually are all about supporting a local group or team and that is another great perk too. So be on the look out for these key events, customer appreciate, anniversary celebrations, fundraising events and local yearly events.

So before you use your weekly paper for liner in your hamster cage or while you are breezing past the articles make sure to look at all the ads posted too. You never know when you may find a cheap Friday night out with the kids complete with a meal. So it may never be that fancy restaurant you dream of from your before children days but dinner out on a dollar budget and a night full of new family memories is well worth taking a slower glance through your paper. Also be sure to check out local businesses on places like Facebook or Twitter, where they can advertise events for free.

My fridge will now always have a space for me to cut out and post local events and celebrations, I look forward to the memories and money-saving it will bring our family next summer. 

From our Happy Family to Yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Quick Money Saving Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Newspapers more than just liner for hamster cages!

  1. Krista says:

    Thanks for the tip, Heather. I had never really thought of that either. It can definitely be a cheap form of entertainment for the family.

Leave a Reply

