The Everything Mom

I recently sat down with a friend and had a nice chat. Our talks circled around mom life and our experiences. She expressed some feelings she was having about choices she has recently had to make about how she was raising her children. It made me think of my second day at the hospital after having the boys and when I was talking to the nurse when she was asking how I was doing and some of my plans when I got home and suddenly had 4 children to worry about. I began to tell my friend those same thoughts of my own about how I was going to become the everything mom.

I’m not focusing on any technique at all. I’m prepared to try everything, hence the everything mom. Every mom has methods she favors and that is great, we need to learn to offer our ideas as advice rather than use them as criticism. Some moms like the Happiest Baby on the Block, some the Baby Whisperer, some co-sleep, some breastfeed. We all need to just keep trying different things to see what works. As moms we are all different and our babies are all different too so we aren’t going to find that what works for us will work for our friends. Along the way we will find friends who have had similar success with the same methods as ourselves. No matter what we need to support our fellow moms and help each other out. We need to lift each other up instead of looking down our noses at each other for using different methods because they work.

I encourage you all to help empower your fellow mommies. I too have been guilty of judging others, but since the boys I am keeping an open mind to all options out there because I too one day might be in similar shoes and have to make decisions I didn’t think I would make or just needing to try something different. We all want and need to be supported during our trials as parents and sometimes being a mom is the hardest job. We do not need to add feelings of guilt to those pressures.

So as a happy thought hug a mom in your life you know, offer a kind word or a smile. You never know if you may just help make a moms day. Also let us not forget the daddies either and remember that dads go through all of this as well.

From our happy family to yours.

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Everything Mom

  1. Meaghan says:

    I found your blog via my friend Vicki, and I love it! My twins are 2.5 years old now, and I am just loving your posts about your pregnancy and (amazing, incredible!) birth – it brings back so many memories 🙂 Congratulations on your boys, by the way!

  2. Krista says:

    I totally agree! Before I had kids, I would be out and see some kid crying and a mom yelling, etc. and think, “What a crazy witch!” But having kids of my own has opened my eyes to the fact that you never know what is going on in that situation. For all I knew that kid has been a brat all day and the mom is at the end of her rope! I now have sympathy and sometimes all that mom needs to hear is, “Been there, done that or my kid acts like that too.” Or even, “Do you need help?”
    Every person is different about how they raise their kids or how they live their life. I always wonder why as women, we have a tendency to judge and make other women feel bad. I think that it is because we can all be a little insecure at times and use it as a way to make ourselves or our decisions feel right or better. It really is quite sad. Life as a mom would be so much better if we could all support each other and have understanding.

Leave a Reply

