Frugal Friday

Ok so I am slowly working at posting something every day. I want to try to make each day of the week something different. Friday’s I will try to post a tip or something I find that has helped my family and I save money or it might just be a steal of a deal I found.

The one thing I know probably saves my family lots of money a year and provides endless entertainment for us all for a mere $15.00 is our Library Cards. I know for myself that one book borrowed has already made that $15.00 worth it, and that is all for a family membership. When we are actively using our cards (the boys have temporarily slowed us down for a bit) we borrow several books and movies a week. Depending on the books I’m taking out I usually read 2 books a week, for the lighter read. Others take me the whole 3 week lending period. I also read many of the different magazines offered. My girls love to borrow books and movies all the time. My husband and I look up movies too, we do not have too hard of a time even finding new releases. We may simply have to order it in and wait a little bit for it to arrive.

Now some people do enjoy a fresh new crisp book and I’ll admit that is an indulgence for me, but libraries usually have a program where you can purchase a new best seller be the first to read it and then it goes in to the library’s circulation. If I find a book I really enjoy then I will go and buy it, but many I just want to read and take back. I don’t need to keep that many books around my house, just the classics and favorites. You can also borrow ebooks and audio books too.

Also our local library offers lots of programs for free for all ages, from movie viewings to, story time, and even classes (my mom joined a writing class while she was visiting).

So I encourage you all to go check out your local library. You may be surprised as to what you find there now, aside from what money you can save too.

From our Happy Family to Yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Green Living, Quick Money Saving Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal Friday

  1. Krista says:

    I love our library! I think that it was the only thing that kept me sane right after I had Alexa. I only wish that I had as much self control as you to mostly just get stuff from the library but nothing beats going to a book store and looking around. The thing is I usually come out with something. I just love books so much and Brad is the same way!

Leave a Reply

