Green Tip – Christmas

Ok so Monday’s are now about a Green Tip.

Today I want to bring up a great idea for making your Christmas a little greener. This may also go along with my post about sharing your gifts and talents too depending on your own skills. My idea is to make your own fabric gift bags. I cannot take full credit for this idea as my mom used to do this for us when we were little. It is as easy as it sounds, head to Fabricland by some Christmas material and sew yourself up some bags with drawstrings. I plan to make a few standard sizes, ones that fit DVD’s, some to hold a bunch of clothing, a few that may hold bigger toys like objects (barbies, dolls, trucks etc.) and a few smaller ones to hold gift cards. Not handy with a sewing machine? Find a friend who is and offer to do something in exchange for their time.

Now the best time to get started on this is of course after Christmas when fabric is on sale and now out of season. I picked up stacks of it for dirt cheap last year only a couple of days after Christmas. If you use them more for family exchanges or in your own home you are then able to keep them more on hand rather than giving them away all the time, but giving them away may help encourage a healthy green movement. Making these bags will then also help save you money later on when it comes to things like tape and the obvious gift wrap.

Take this idea and carry it forward all year round with a few bags that are general patterns you can use at birthdays and other celebrations. Don’t forget to keep recycling and reusing gift wrap and bags that you do receive from family and friends so we can keep more of it out of the landfills.

Now I just have to find the time to make all the bags I planned to with all that fabric I bought last year. Wish me luck!

From our Happy Family to Yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Green Living, Holiday Helpers, Quick Money Saving Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Tip – Christmas

  1. Krista says:

    Gotta love the christmas fabric! Lucky those bags don’t take a lot of time to make. It’s just finding the time to make them.

Leave a Reply

