On the road eating

Ok so life has been crazy lately and well I’ve been slacking on this. My free moments have been few and far between. Maybe trying to do something on each day of the week is still a little hopeful for me in these early months and well any mother I’m sure knows what I’m talking about how time just flies and always feels like it is just swirling around you along with your kids.

Anyways we’ve had many appointments lately and busy days so something I am learning and finally realizing I need to put my Girl Guide Motto of Be Prepared towards is eating while on the run or road. One of our days we got caught up and had to stop and finding that fast food is just about as expensive as a sit down meal. Until about 6 months ago I wouldn’t have worried about hitting a drive thru, that was when with careful ordering I could feed my family of 4 at the time on $15.00 at a McDonalds. For those wondering we’d get a Big Mac meal for David super sized, I’d order the 2 cheeseburger meal super sized, get 2 small cups with it and possible an extra small fries or cheeseburger for 1.39. The girls would split one burger and eat most of the fries, I’d get a few nibbles here and there and left overs with either one burger and the extra fries or 2 burgers.

Back to the point after a recent fast food night our meals are now twice as much since Diana can now eat a whole happy meal and well monkey see monkey do Amy wants one as well. I’ve realized more that I need to better prepare myself for eating while out, it isn’t very budget friendly when we have food at home already but what do you do when you are out and faced with hungry kids. The next time we went out I tried to get some things together but found that my pantry was stocked with unfriendly travel foods. Sure muffins and crackers sound great but Amy is still so messy and I had nightmares thinking about the state of my van when they were done. I tried to get them to eat before we left that day as well just a small snack, it helped but wasn’t enough and yet again we found ourselves faced with having to make a stop, this time we simply got enough to tide us over as we were on our way home but at least an hour from being there with the snowy weather. So the girls shared a bagel and juice.

Today though I prepared myself as I was grocery shopping. Picking up snap peas they could easily eat, some premade cheese and crackers, and plain granola bars so we didn’t have melted chocolate everywhere. I came home packed it all nicely up in plastic containers to reduce waste (my green tip for today) and filled up water bottles. It was easy the girls snacked happily in the van on the way and I didn’t end up with a big mess or cranky girls.

Lesson learned, look at the week ahead and pick up a few things to take with me when heading out of the house. I even bought an extra box of the cheese and crackers for those just in case days, and will tuck the rest of the granola bars in the back so they don’t wander off.

From our Happy Family to Yours!

Heather Eyestone

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the road eating

  1. Jennifer says:

    Hey Heather,

    Some great ideas, we have that issue too, as Evan can eat a whole Happy Meal and then some and Ada won’t be far behind. I am a little worried for when I need to feed Jane too. But when we moved into our ‘new’ house we needed to stretch our budget a little further. So I got an insulated lunch bag, and stocked it with granola bars, plastic containers of animal crackers, fruit cups, juice boxes premade snacks, etc. And i keep it in the van, so i don’t have to worry about forgetting, then I bring it in every couple of trips and refill. I drive thru is way too expensive and we too have a lot of appointments.

Leave a Reply

