Mmmm Leftovers

Every family or household comes across the everyday issue of leftovers. So other than reheating what you ate the night before what can you do with the food that is building up in your fridge? Well we all have our own creative ideas for reviving a meal so that the leftovers seem a little more exciting. Here are some ideas I have tried and I’d be interested in any that anyone else may have posted in the comments.

Pork Tenderloin and Steak I always find hard because they get rather dry, but sliced thin and cooked up with a package of Mr. Noodles and some frozen veggies makes for a taster lunch. Or they add nicely to a stir fry. I have also used a little stock to liven them up to add to a wrap sandwich.

Chicken I have a few different ways. Add to caesar salad for lunch or dinner. Chop up and make Quesedillas. I also use the Taco sauce from the kits we don’t use when I make my quesedillas to add flavor and keep it from drying out. Add to soup as well or Mr. Noodles.

Extra Spaghetti sauce in large quantities makes a great sloppy joe when you add in the seasoning or if you don’t quite have enough for that but too much for spaghetti again I make a baked spaghetti with it on top, I got the recipe from Kraft. http://www.kraftcanada.com/en/recipes/spaghetti-squares-111382.aspx

Mashed Potatoes always make great hash browns the next morning.

I use my bread ends to make croutons. A little olive oil and some garlic seasoning, toast them a little in the oven and they make a tasty addition to caesar salad.

Anyways these are just a few of the favorites we have in this house. I’m sure if I really thought long and hard I could come up with me. Feel free to leave suggestions of your own.

From our Happy Family to Yours!

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

