Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  May the Luck o’ the Irish be with everyone this day.

I grew up celebrating today with my grandfather who moved from Ireland when he was a young man. Today has been a day always filled with luck, family and Irish music. As a young girl I would get all dressed up with my sister and head off to Peterbourgh, which I’m sure is the Irish capital of Ontario. We would spend the day with my Grandfather and his Irish friends who had an Irish band, Lefty’s Leprechauns. Grandpa Harry’s friends were Lefty and Basil. We’d start the morning at the Hide Away, a home that was converted into a little restaurant. After breakfast the band would “sing for their supper” and we’d all clap and dance. Sometime’s we’d head off to the Catholic Church with everyone since Lefty and Basil were Catholic, we were Protestant. The afternoon’s sometimes were filled with visits to seniors, parades and visits to Irish friends all over the city. We’d eat our share of Irish foods, listen to the band more and dance all day. The Irish community always got together for supper at one of the large halls and we’d continue to eat and dance the night away.

Since I’m rather far away to celebrate in this style we’ve begun our own traditions here. The get something made by grandma filled with shamrocks and vibrant greens. We eat green pancakes for breakfast, search for gold coins the leprechauns have left us and wear lots of fun Irish swag. Once the kids are older we’ll venture into the traditional Irish foods as I’m not sure Cabbage soup is something they are ready for. We have tried Boxty sometimes but again I seem to be the only one interested in it. So they eat in the fashion my mom did when she visited Ireland as a small girl, Kraft Dinner. We also spend part of the day listening to Irish music I have on CDs. I look forward to the memories we continue to build each year.

Next year we look forward to a new element to our Tradition as we will spend the day celebrating the wedding of my younger sister and her fiancé.

Happy St. Patricks Day Everyone!

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

