Baby Food

Over the last few months our boys have started the process of trying solids. In the last few weeks we have started vegetables as well. Now for sampling and testing buying jars and boxes of cereal is ok, but once twins start eating and enjoying food it becomes quite costly to keep up with them. I spend more in cereal for the boys in a week then I do on the girls. The amount and size just does not seem fair. As with the girls I do make my own foods after we sample a few jar varieties. With Amy I also made my own cereal. The other day I spent the morning making up all kinds of food to freeze for the boys. Here is a list of things I find handy when you are making your own baby food.

  • Steamer
  • Food processor/Blender/Magic Bullet or Stick Blender
  • Baby Cubes (sold at Babies R Us) they hold more than ice-cube trays and have lids
  • Tupperware Freezermates (for larger portions to freeze)
  • Rubbermaid or Tupperware containers for dry cereal
  • Oats/Barley/Brown Rice
  • Variety of veggies to steam

Here is a great webpage I found tells you how to make the cereals. http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/index.htm They also have good ideas for other baby foods to make.

My friend gave me a great idea as well, buy a small ready-made chicken that sells for around $6.00 in the deli when they have a coupon, blend it up with some veggies for a nice chicken dinner.

Now with our boys I have to make quite a bit to last 2 weeks for them in our house. So try small amounts as a test run to see how much it makes and how long it will last. Once our boys get older and eating more of whar we eat I just take the hand blender and mash it up for them right there and maybe one more portion for the next day.

Sweet potatoes, carrots, butternut squash & peas are great starters and make lots easily.

Making your own baby food is far cheaper and tasty. The only thing I continually buy in jars is fruits as most are off-season and too expensive to buy to make a small amount of baby food.

Bon appetite!

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Budgeting, Quick Money Saving Tips, Twins and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

