My first devotional submission.

A friend of mine from sent me a message today with a link to a devotional blog site that was looking for a new contributing writer. She thought it might be something I would be interested, mentioning that I am enjoyable to read. I read through it and I’m impressed it sounds inspiring and fun, and that is what I want to be right? Next thing I feel is self doubt and I start to question myself. Am I worthy of writing a devotional blog for women under 30? I am always second guessing myself and how I measure up. Most people know that I am a Christian woman and that I try as hard as I can to go to church with my family, which is hard when my husband works every other weekend and well we have 4 kids who are not good at sitting still. I try to keep my faith known in my blog but not flaunting it as I want everyone to feel comfortable reading my words. God does play a big part in my life. He has been someone I have had to learn to trust even more since I found out about the boys. Even though I try my hardest to be a good Christian woman I do still find myself wondering am I good enough? Am I good enough to join the women’s bible study? Will I seem too outlandish. I have been known to be rather earthy in my ways. I often feel like a Maria, and that everyone is singing, how do we solve a problem like Maria when I leave the room. I’m still really green in what I know about God and the bible, even though I grew up going to Church, I just don’t seem to know it like my peers do. But I love to write and they say this devotional is for all walks of women, some who are not believers themselves, who may be just learning like myself. So you know what I am going to give it a shot! I figure why not, what do I have to lose? I can be inspiring and uplifting! So anyways here is what I sent in, it is something I have posted about on here before but with a devotional twist. Enjoy 🙂 PS thanks to my friend who believed this was an opportunity for me.

Just keep swimming

an inspirational entry from a mother of multiples

 A friend of mine once told me, “You want to make God laugh, tell him your plans”. My story starts in the fall of 2009, my husband and I decided that we were very blessed with our two daughters and that our family was complete. Now being in our twenties we both felt that it wasn’t necessary to do anything drastic in the birth control department, as far a surgeries went and that in a few years when were thirty we would then deal with that. Which brings me to February 2010, and I’m standing in the washroom holding a positive pregnancy test. I am trying my hardest to feel positive about this blessing, because despite our use of several types of contraceptives we are going to have another baby. Babies are a blessing and a gift right? I already have 2 so I should be happy? I am inside and under the shock I really am. We quickly start assessing our life and changing the plans we had started for our family of 4 and adjust them to a family of 5. Phew, as an organized person I feel calm and collected, I want to shout I can do this! Baby number 3 here we come. Fast forward a few months to May 2010, I’m at my routine ultrasound at 19 weeks. After lying on the table for what felt like an eternity, the technician is finally ready to show me what she has found on the screen, before she calls in my family to view. “Here we have Left Twin Male A, and Right Twin B, I’m not sure of the sex yet.” I beg your pardon? My heart stops, my mind is a whirl is this really happening? Before I’m able to collect myself, in rushes my husband, 2 daughters, mother, mother in law, and my husband’s aunt who works there, all about to receive the same news I got. The room is exploding with excitement and shock. Well I guess we are going to need a bigger vehicle for sure. After all of this news I feel so overwhelmed. I remember hearing from friends and family, God doesn’t give you more kids than he thinks you can handle. Ok God, this is your plan not mine. What do I do? Answer, “Just keep swimming.” Famous words from Dorey in my children’s adored movie Finding Nemo. Just keep swimming eh? From those moments on my life has not been short on excitement. There are days I have to keep telling myself, just keep swimming. We all find ourselves faced with choices in life that we feel someone else has made for us. Whether it is a chain reaction to events or God’s doing. No matter what we need to believe that God will be there for us, that by continually moving forward we will find that sunshine we seek on a cloudy day.

  Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths. – Proverbs 3:5,6

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmyUkm2qlhA

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

