Happy Father’s Day

Ok so I know it is the day after, but yesterday was an absolutely crazy day that started at 5:30 after a horrible night of sleep. Anyways I am much more refreshed and motivated today.

I wanted to send a shout out to all the dads out there, and the honorary dads as well. Being a dad is just as hard a being a mom. Not only do you have the weight of family life on your shoulders but also being the breadwinner of the family as well. Yes I know we do live in times where most women work too and quite possibly are the breadwinners of the family as well. I have a friend who is a stay at home dad and doing an amazing job of it too! Being a dad does not always come as easy and quite understandably can be a learned skill also. Over the last 5 years I have watched my husband grow into a wonderful, involved father. It wasn’t always easy in our house. With me staying home I did everything around the house and took care of Diana. Dave helped out when I needed him, but he wasn’t as hands on as he is now. It was something he grew into and enjoys greatly. I won’t lie our first year as parents was a huge wake up call. Life was not about what we wanted to do anymore and lessons were learned that our pleasures had to be put aside for our daughter. That being a parent is a lot of work, from sun up to sun down and quite often lots in between that as well.

This past year our world was rocked and we jumped from 2 kids to 4. Dave willingly has stepped up to the plate. Not only is he actively involved with the kids, diapers and all. He is involved in the house, taking care of meals, cleaning and laundry too. In honesty he picks up the vacuum more than I do, but some days I am just so busy with the daily demands of the family that I do not have the time to pick up the vacuum too. Dave was also parent helper for Diana’s playschool this year. He is also a great help at taking some of the kids out of the house on errands.

I love that he has embraced being a dad and enjoys his children, from the laughs and smiles from the boys, to giggles and squeals from the girls during a game of hide and seek.

I also want to send out a big thank you and I love you to my own dad. He taught me how to swim, how to fish, played hide and seek monster with my sister and I, or king of the castle at the cottage. He taught us how to make snow forts in the winter, how to bowl and ride a bike. He showed me what kind of man I needed to look for to have in my own life just by being an example to me. I love that he shows the same excitement and interest in his grandkids and soaks up every moment with them.

So here’s to all the dads out there!

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

