Dealing with sick babies

Ok so 24 hours later I’m getting some peace. Last night was another first in our home with the twins. Illness struck us, in the puking fashion. It actually began yesterday afternoon when we were out as a family geocaching until we had to pick Diana up from school. I wasn’t feeling like myself and thought I was maybe worn down a little from the past few weeks worth of events. So when we got home I took a little time to rest in bed. Supper went on afterwards as usual, I still wasn’t feeling do hot so after all the kids were in bed I went myself and was asleep shortly after 8pm. Dave came up later and them around 11:30pm I heard it. That sound every mother knows, someone getting sick. Only this time I knew it was a baby as the girls had the tummy bug the week before.
I shout to Dave one of the babies is getting sick and I raced it to the boys room and there is Mark sitting up screaming and tossing his cookies. I grab him and race for the bathroom sink. Dave is up checking the damage. I tell him to get a face cloth. Soon though I realized I’m getting those hot flashes and about to be sick myself. I yelled to Dave to grab Mark from me and then I race to th toliet for my turn. Dave cleans Mark off and strips his jammies off. Poor little David is screaming in his crib from all the commotion. I tell Dave to pass me Mark and a blanket then get David. So there I am sat with a shivering naked baby in a blanket in one arm, a frighten one in he other against the tub next to the toilet. Once the crib is made Dave grabs David and I change and dress Mark who seems in much better spirits.
Unfortunately this was only the start of the evening. Mark was sick every 30 minutes or so until 2am. David was fussy until then when we gave him a bottle and then slept finally as did his brother. We also used up all or crib sheets and started a mass load or two of laundry. Come morning though they were both fine and awake. Me I felt crummy all day log still battling my own virus, managing a nap in the afternoon when the boys settled down. The girls were so good and ate many bowls of honey nut cheerios today while I slept.
Things I have learned from this.
– layer towels down as we have way more of those than crib sheets. I only thought of that on the last sheet.
– no matter what you try both babies will wake up so you will have 2 to settle.
– eating cheerios all day long is a treat and keeps kids happy.
– it isn’t over until the other baby has been sick as well… I’m still waiting for that to happen.

I guess I cannot complain since by some miracle we had avoiding tummy bugs for the last 3 years. But it is time for me to hit the sack and try to rest up should the fun start all over again tonight.

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Helpful Hints, Twins and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

