Family Traditions

Ok like I mentioned in my last blog, I wasn’t sure the sickness was over yet with only one boy not having had it yet. Well I was right. The other shoe fell the other night as did I. I have not felt that awful in a very long time. I wish it was the same for adults as it is for babies, get sick a couple of times then pass out for 8 hours and feel fine. Many loads of laundry have been done here now and sadly I had to break my record for only having used the dryer 6 times since April. I’ve used it about that in this last weekend.

All that aside, the boys first birthday is coming up and that got me thinking about one of our family traditions we started. Birthday Cinnamon Buns! I originally got the idea from the Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood, how they always had a secret cake for breakfast. I really liked that idea, but cake for breakfast seemed a bit much for me. Plus that is a lot of cake for me to have around the house. So I put my thinking cap on and thought of cinnamon buns. It is such a treat for us to have them and I figured why not your birthday that was a special day after all. We started this tradition almost 2 years ago with Diana’s 4th Birthday and it has carried on to each person in the house. No matter where we are for our birthday we always share cinnamon buns for breakfast. Uncle Joe and Auntie Kaitlin have been able to enjoy this with us as we were visiting them during Amy’s birthday this past year. Also if anyone was to visit us on their birthday we’d do it for them too. Dave lucked out this year and for his I found a recipe online that is for Cinnabon Cinnamon buns you make at home, and they were so good. I had to share it with everyone so here it is. I found this recipe on All Recipes and wow this woman deserves the 5 stars it was listed as. YUMMY!

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/clone-of-a-cinnabon/detail.aspx

Also before I end I know what you all may be thinking and yes I will make each boy his own batch of Cinnamon Buns for his Birthday. We may just have to spread them out by a few days or our waist lines will be spreading just as fast.

What are your family traditions? Do you have anything special you have started as a family? Share your secrets with us!

Looking forward to cinnamon buns next week!

Heather

Amy's Birthday Cinnamon Bun - Age 2

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

