My 100th Post! – Pumpkin Waffles

Here I am! My 100th Post! I wanted this post to be moving, thoughtful, and inspiring. I was also hoping for another great blog that would increase my stats and finally top my highest read blog and highest read posting in a day. Which was Our Birth Story, the day I wrote about the birth of the boys. 79 people visited my site that day and it continues to be a well read blog one year later. I’ve had some other blogs that have gotten close. It seems lots of people were interested in how I lost all my twin weight and then some, anytime I write about my weight, like how big I got with the boys, what I did to lose it and me in a bathing suit. I find the more honest I am about life and being a mom of multiples plus my two girls, usually brings in more people. My conclusion is people either like to be inspired to lose weight or wanted to look at someone who got way bigger than them, and think yes at least I wasn’t that huge, or they think I’m totally crazy and like to read how I’m slowly going down hill with my sanity. I may still have to blog about the uses of yogurt containers.

Anyways it may be hard to top my twin birth story, but I can sure try with PUMPKIN WAFFLES!!!!!

So Pumpkin Waffles began about a week ago. I made the actual time to sit down and watch Rachael Ray because my sweetie Jason Segel was on it and I wanted to stare at him. Yes I’m creepy now too. So she starts the show off with some talk about how waffle week shut down her website, she then highlighted some of those creations before introducing her latest waffle idea. Yes I’m leaving out what those waffles were and my inspiration because I want you to read my blog first before you go and google Rachael Ray’s waffle week. Fair is  fair you are here first and she is famous and everyone knows about her waffles and such. I’m hoping to find my 15 minutes of fame with these waffles. Also I must note I’m hoping this becomes my recipe, you know the one everyone wants and asks for. I always end up at friends houses asking for their recipes, I want to be known for my Pumpkin Waffles. Back to my story… So I see one and I get an idea! I have a recipe that uses a cake mix and pumpkin, hmmm can I turn this into waffles? I pull my book out and I read over. I figure with a little tweaking I can do this, and I don’t usually tweak recipes, unless I feel the recipe requires more chocolate or chocolate at all to make it more up my alley.  Next I’m on the hunt for a waffle iron. Score my friend Jen can lend me it for the weekend, perfect all the time I need. I pick up the ingredients for my creation, making sure to pick up what I need to create a topping to go with this as well. Which is my favorite cream cheese frosting recipe cut in half and adding whipping cream into it, the real stuff, not the cool stuff. So last night while Dave and the girls set up the tree I get to work. Christmas is in the air, The Sound of Music is on the TV in the background, my stage is set! I mix, whip and waffle up a frenzy in the kitchen, learning not to use as much batter after the first round and leaving them on longer makes them nice and crispy and oh so yummy.

Waffles are done, the kids and Dave crowd around and we all sample and taste my creation. We made them into mini sandwiches with the whipped topping in the middle and Oh. My. God! YUMMY!!!!!! A star is born! A parade passes down the street in my honor and fireworks light up the sky. Actually the girls say Yum, the boys eat them up and, Dave eats in silence and casually says how he isn’t sure which part he likes better. With my crew that is about as close to a parade as I’m going to get. Note to self next time invite Mark Taylor over for the unveiling. Yes I use my girl friends husband for approval of my baking and cooking. I’m not the only chick from church that does either. He is just so appreciative of good food, I hope he never changes or else many of us will probably stop cooking all together. I love my husband he rarely passes out yummy noises and sounds like a man who could die happy from what he ate. That’s OK it gives me more to work towards. I like a challenge, and if I’m feeling lazy I have go to meals to get those noises. Tacos, Ham, and anything with gravy and a bun.

I have stalled long enough! Here is the recipe I put together for

PUMPKIN WAFFLES

  • 1 White Cake Mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp Oil
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of yogurt ( I used Greek, it is nice and creamy)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • Pumpkin spices (I used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8tsp all spice, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, or equal to those ratios anyways)

Mix up your batter and only use about 1/2 cup on the waffle iron, too much and it bubbles over. Start small you can always add more to the next batch. Let sit for about 8-10 minutes until the waffles are getting nice and crispy. Remove and top or sandwich with

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Topping

  • 1 pkg of plain cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups of icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup soften butter
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla
  • whipping cream (buy lots, everyone loves whipping cream!)

Beat the first 4 things up. On the side whip up 2 cups of whipping cream. Cut the cream cheese frosting in half (unless you are feeding lots of people, then double the whipping cream) and then fold in whipping cream until nice and blended. Serve on warm waffles how you enjoy it best!

Yes you are very welcome! I think I took the best parts of recipes I knew and came up with something wonderful. This was my first time going outside the box and wow it tasted so good!

I’m so glad I made time to watch Rachael Ray, I cannot wait till the kidlets get a little older so I can do it more often, I miss being able to get yummy ideas and now inspiration for meal creations!

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 100th Post! – Pumpkin Waffles

  1. Colleen Elston says:

    Honey you’ve outdone yourself. I think there’s a waffle iron under the tree!

  2. Pingback: The Best of 2011 | Life's Surprises

Leave a Reply

