Reward system for kids

Well I’m currently sitting here at the library enjoying a little quiet time while Amy is at school. Things have been busy around our home lately with the stomach flu and I went to camp with my Girl Guide Unit.

In and around all the daily challenges I recently started a new reward system for the kids and chores. I was half inspired by pinterest and an article I read. The girls are pretty good but we face lots of dilly dallying and frustration. So I first took a recipe box I had lying around and a stack of blank cue cards. I filled out the card with lots of rewards, stickers for their sticker books, baking days, extra bedtime stories, ice cream treat, and so on. Some small easy rewards some that needed more from me. Then I found some free printable charts online and printed a few off. We put them up in the kitchen with some stickers readily waiting. I made a list of things they got stickers for, making beds, getting dressed and brushing teeth, cleaning up toys when they were done being played with, etc. the idea was to encourage good habits, for Amy help her to learn to think through hard things and learn to do them alone and lastly to keep me from always asking them to tidy up. Once they get 7 stickers they pick a card from the box as a prize. So far it is working great and easy to keep up with. Both girls have earned rewards a few times and are listening better. Day One Amy did 3 items in 15 minutes. So far it seems to be working very well. We have had times where stickers were not earned, but they get the idea, especially when they are so close to a new reward.

I am hoping this is something we can all stick with and that it does help each of the girls learn new habits and throw less tantrums.

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Helpful Hints, Just for Fun, Organization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

