Cheese & Chicken Enchiladas

I’ve been told I need to start blogging some of the recipes we eat as they sound so good. I’m just a gal who enjoys cooking, I’m not overly daring and exciting at times but I do love food. I mostly love food of the dessert variety if it was possibly to live completely on sweets I would, oh and stay a size 6 please.

Something we have been dealing with around the house lately though before I get on with the recipe is tough love. Amy especially. I feel for the girl because she is technically our middle child, even though she has 2 brothers behind her. She is stuck in the middle spot. Dave being a middle child worries for her and constantly tells me how hard it was to be the middle child himself. When I met him he was a broken shell of a man apparently just looking for someone to love him and dote attention on him. This was all expressed and told to me with the starved attention seeking needs of a middle child. Me I’m the oldest and I just wanted someone to boss around, tell me I was an amazing cook and other things.

But alas back to our dear Amy, she has been the brunt of some tough loving lately. Once being a baby and now crossing the threshold into being a big girl she is having to leave some of her baby ways behind her and not without a fight. She wasn’t a spoiled baby when she was little, but she did go through the phase of “she is just a baby, she doesn’t know better” where Diana did not because there was only her and she learned as she went and so did we. But with Diana older and capable of doing things before Amy, we had to cut Amy some slack. Things like Diana needed to eat all her dinner to get a treat, or eat what we were having because that was dinner, where Amy was little and still didn’t like all that we ate or we may have gone out of our way to give her other things to assure she wasn’t hungry. All things now Amy sees happening with David and Mar, but now she is expected to be the big girl. This also applies to the cleaning up in the house. So for the last probably good 6-8 months we have been working on retraining our Amy. We try to be encouraging and helpful as she does need to learn that she must clean up after herself, we don’t expect her to clean like Diana (who is a little neater by nature), but we do expect her to participate. The sticker system we set up has been helping. She has been left out of stickers many times for not cleaning when asked to. The biggest struggle though we have is  getting her to eat dinner. I’m not an adventurous cook as I mentioned but I have gotten over a few of my own picky qualities and try some different things from time to time. Amy also only seems to enjoy eggs, oatmeal and cereal. So tonight like many others she did not finish her meal, and did miss out on the after dinner treat. A new one I picked up at the store today. I think she was OK with this until she saw Diana with hers after baths and supper was long cleaned up from and there was no chance of a final attempt to eat dinner and redeem her treat. There were tears, and I’m sure if she knew about stomping and door slamming they would have followed. But I am persistent, and I feel that she should have to eat like the rest of us in order to reap the reward. My sister and I faced the same tough love, although where I thought I would be like Diana, I was like Amy. My sister would eat anything to get dessert, I on the other hand would not touch the tofu, or I can’t believe it’s not meat (veggie ground round) with a ten foot pole even if I did miss out on ice cream and pudding. I feel for Amy, but I want to help her to enjoy different foods and maybe grow up a little more open to foods than I had. I get that there are just some things you cannot change, but I have hope. I try not to be too hard and I do try to make sure there are lots of options for her to eat with dinner. Time will only tell and I know I still have 2 others to shape into good eaters as well.

Now that I have scared you in to wondering what do I cook here is my recipe and it is a really good one I swear. Not too spicy and something really nice to add change to the usual meals around the home.

Cheese and Chicken Enchiladas

  • 1/2 deli chicken or 2 chicken breasts roasted (make it easier to shred)
  • 8 oz Mexican Cheese blend
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 1/2 tsp of Chili powder
  • 1/8 tsp of Cumin
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 19 oz jar of Enchilada sauce (I found this at Safeway)
  • 3/4 cup of half and half cream
  • 12 whole wheat tortillas ( recipe recommends corn, I just use wheat)

Separate chicken from bones (about 2 cups or 2 breasts) and shred into bowl. Add 1/2 Mexican cheese , all cheddar cheese and spices, mix thoroughly. Whisk enchilada sauce and cream together. Spread 1/2 of sauce in a 9×13 pan. Wrap tortillas in damp cloth and warm in the microwave for 2 minutes. Spoon 1/4 cup of chicken mixture in tortilla and roll up, place seam side down in pan. Repeat until pan is full and tortillas are gone. Pour remaining sauce over pan, and sprinkle cheese on top. If you like you can add a red pepper sliced to the chicken mix, my family prefers this to the side so I left it out. Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 15 minutes, uncover and bake for 10 minutes. Cool and serve with Sour Cream.

We love it just on its own but you can also try rice as a side dish or anything else your heart desires.

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

