Are you too busy?

So we’ve been battling stomach flu here for almost 2 weeks and it has been a long time to be held up in the house. I am looking forward to us all feeling healthy again. Needless to say we all know where my attentions have been lately. 

I’ve been pondering a discussion I had a few weeks ago, on how we (mostly moms) use how busy we have been to rate ourselves in the world. The more busier you are the better you are? I know that doesn’t seem right, but think about when you talk to friends and the moment someone says “Oh I’ve been so busy lately” it instantly spurs the other person to have been equally busy if not more. Then it becomes a battle in our lives who is the most busy mom out there. So how the less sleep you get, the more volunteer work you do, the more home cooked meals, baked cookies, pinterest crafts you do the better person you are? Don’t get me wrong being active and doing things you love is great, but we don’t need to run ourselves into the ground to impress others. This is something I’ve realized a lot since I have been trying to reevaluate my life since I found out I have anxiety and a mood disorder (similar to PPD). Being busy and overly trying to impress everyone, exhausted me. It made me cranky, moody and not at all a better mom. Women I find by nature very catty, always trying to one up each other. I think we need to stop, and help each other more. We need to learn to listen to each other and encourage each other. With our closest friends usually this is the case, but that outer circle of friends or even acquaintances is maybe where we need to be less busy and try a little harder to listen and support. 

Mental health is very important and it isn’t worth sacrificing ourselves to be the best and the busiest mom. 

Heather

 

 

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

