More than a feeling

So how many of you are now rocking in your head to Boston’s More Than a Feeling tune, complete with guitar rifts and all?

Lately for my facebook friends I have been posting off and on about our most recent journey with our twins on how they are gluten sensitive and I would like to share all that with you now. My boys are a month away from turning two and a half, and they don’t talk. Well they do but not how they should. Mark is a descendant of Tim the Tool Man Taylor and feels grunting is suffice. His actual words are Bye, Mama, Uh Oh and Woah, this does not include all the vehicle sounds he makes. He does use some sign language including Milk, More, Eat, Bath, Banana, Cookie, and Waves. David speaks more words but signs less. He can say Mom, Mama, Woah, Wow, Uh Oh, Car, Go, Up, Bus and his all time favorite No. David has recently started repeating us in an attempt to learn more words.

Our journey began last spring at the boys 18 month immunizations. We were talking with the public health nurse and she was concerned about their lack of words (at that point it was pretty much Uh Oh and Mama) and also how they were not walking (no longer a problem). So we set up to met with Early Intervention. They started home visits right away with us and we started getting assessments. At first they were not concerned about the language it was still some what normal for them. We were given exercises. We continued on and then in the fall we joined a play group they put on Tuesday mornings. The boys enjoy our time there and we still continue to go. Our boys are very smart and are good at following direction so I had never given a thought to why they were delayed. I knew the boys were different they wouldn’t be like Diana who at 20 months spoke over 250 words and small sentences, even like our Amy who likes to ride the curve and do things by the book. I have been giving them time and letting them grow at their own pace.

Until this past January when I was in my car waiting to pick my oldest up from Sparks and trying to catch up on my magazine reading (so I don’t remember which one or month exactly). I was reading an article on families who had kids with Autism, ADHD and ADD, and how they were miss diagnosed. One story jumped off the page at me about a woman whose sons was about the same age as my boys and at the same level verbally. He was being treated for Autism and what it all turned out to be was her son was Gluten Sensitive. After 2 weeks being gluten free he was interested in books, sitting with her and doing more to learn language. It really gave me pause. I started to think about that, could this be why my boys were not making the word connection? I hit google and found this was not an unheard of thing.  That Friday we had an appointment with our family chiropractor and I knew in the past he has done food sensitivity tests for us regarding milk. He told me we could check a few things if I wanted and to bring the items in. So I put together a small selection of items white bread, milk (both lactose treated and 2 %), raw eggs, and the hair from both our cats.

The results surprised me. David reacted to treated milk, and white bread. Mark reacted to white bread, raw eggs and both our cats. That then pushed me further in my research. I told our chiropractor next month I was going bring a larger selection because white bread was starting to confirm my suspicions.

I began more research on the internet and the evidence started to add up, and it was no longer a coincidence. I started asking friends who I knew were gluten free and what were their signs. I found all too many things similar. How the effects of having something in the home or being eaten changed their kids once they removed the issue, whether it be growth and development to personality and attitude.

These are the things I found related to what the boys were going through.

  • Lack of speech
  • Constant Ear Infections (so often and mild that I didn’t notice)
  • What their BM’s looked like
  • Night waking
  • No interest in the culprit food or too much desire in it
  • Snotty noses all the time

So far with the boys not talking I have gotten a lot of things said to me like well they are boys, they are twins, their sisters talk for them. While I agree with that some what I don’t believe it to be the truth and now I was on a hunt to find out. Our daughters while chatty have never stood their and told us what the boys wanted. Yes they are boys and twins which can be the cause for delay but it shouldn’t be the only reason I’m given with out looking into other outlets. Last spring we had their hearing tested and they were fine.

Once I started thinking and putting all these puzzle pieces together I really felt I had found an answer. Since our appointment that showed me their bodies did not like white bread we right away worked at a gluten reduced diet for them. As it was hard to go cold turkey all at once. But I did my best to switch out what I could and make gluten free options for them. In that month David has surprised me on more than one occasion where he just said a new word or repeated me when he pointed and asked about an object. Something totally new for him.

Last week we went armed with 8 kinds of flour, 8 types of bread (as it could have just been that brand we used), cooked eggs, walnuts, strawberries, puffed wheat, oats and cheese. Our Chiropractor has also in that month expanded how he tests after attending a seminar on food sensitivity and was excited about the experiment. He was ready with the top food items they do in the basic 20 allergy blood test (all but shellfish) and I was ready with my stash as well. This is what we found out in the ways of positive reactions the boys had.

Mark – had milder reactions than David all a moderate level

  • Whole Wheat 
  • Sugar
  • Eggs
  • Puffed Wheat
  • White Flour
  • Walnuts

David – had mostly moderate with a few severe reactions (indicated)

  • Whole Wheat
  • Milk (Severe)
    Sugar
  • Puffed Wheat
  • White Flour (severe)
  • Gems Flour
  • Coconut Flour
  • Walnuts
  • Cheese
  • Strawberries
  • Ancient Grains Bread (severe)

Somethings really surprised me. After David didn’t react to 2% milk the first time I was surprised to see it show up, now we did test with 10% cream the second time. David also seemed have issues with flours that were supposed to be gluten free and good for people with a wheat sensitivity. Sugar was weird too, but white sugar is so refined we all I’m sure react to it. Mark and cooked eggs worried me that was a staple in our diet and he loved them. So now we begin a gluten free and various other items diet. It is having its challenges but my plan is to start simple and work my way to having us all eat better and hopefully one day gluten free for everyone.

My next course of action is to talk to their pediatrician at our May appointment about my findings and look into the blood test as David was severe on some. Allergy’s and sensitivities are different. They can be sensitive to these items and not have an allergic reaction. Anyone who suffers from lactose intolerance knows what I’m talking about, or those who know they shouldn’t eat something and later regret it by having a case of the crummies. I’m not claiming to have all the answers here or even be 100% right in what I suspect but I really feel this is an avenue I need to pursue because I don’t want the boys to be 4 and still being told well their boys, or their twins. That isn’t the answer to everything for them.

Heather

About heathereyestone

I'm a stay at home mom of 4 kids, the youngest being twins. I try to live my life as green as I can, and love the outdoors.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More than a feeling

  1. Alisha says:

    My twins boys are 18 months and not walking or talking. Did the early intervention help ? Or did they pick up the walking on thier own ? They are the youngest of 4 boys.

    Thanks,
    Alisha

    • How do you feel about where your boys are at? Mine were on the path the walking when we started. David waked by the end of 18 months and Mark a month later. I do enjoy the group and the fact that the are watching them for signs where they are falling behind. It is a great program. If you feel it is something your boys could benefit from it I would look into it.

Leave a Reply

